My Favourite Sauce…

I LOVE food. Lucky for me it has never been a problem that I eat all the time. Ask anyone that has worked with me, my purse has a section dedicated to snacks. They have laughed but who do they come running to when they forgot lunch?!?

Anyways.

A few years back, I don’t remember exactly where or when, I had the most delicious Peppercorn sauce with my steak (I am a meat lover!). Any time my family would go out I would get a steak and peppercorn. It was getting ridiculous. Still is. If there is peppercorn sauce on the menu you might as well bet on me getting it like you bet on the end of a movie you have seen already. So my mission was to learn to make a peppercorn sauce that i could easily do at home. Something to whip up when the man wanted steak. That is were Pinterest and Google quickly became my best weapons.

Took a little while but I found one that was easy and sounded fantastic. Well I lost the recipe after the first time I used it and to this day have not been able to find it. I found one close, and remember it pretty well but it was heart breaking. So, Here is a tried and true recipe. When my dad texts me and it says “I bought whipping cream” you know he was peppercorn sauce…

Peppercorn Sauce. 

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 2 tbsp mixed peppercorns (Slightly ground and separated in 1 tbsp measures)
  • 2 teaspoons Kitchen Bouquet 
  • 8 tbsp whipping cream
  • Thickening mixture (1 tsp corn starch mixed with 2 tsp water)
  • 1/2 tsp of worshire sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste

Steps

  1. Heat pan on stove till hot – medium
  2. Slather olive oil on steaks and put first 1tbsp of peppercorns on (I use a fork to press them in a little) – Flip and repeat on other side
  3. Once pan is heated drop steaks on pan (It will fizzle – and i have to do it two steaks at a time). Let steaks sit for a moment then flip. Pull steaks off when both sides are lighted seared.
  4. Turn down pan heat and add red wine. Let simmer for a couple minutes. 
  5. Add beef broth. Also add in the juices that the steak has now pooled on the plate. Stir and then let simmer for a couple minutes.
  6. Add the remaining pepper corns, whoshisire sauce, and whipping cream while stirring. 
  7. Add kitchen bouquet and let sit till the steaks are almost done on the bbq.
  8. When the steaks are about 5 minutes from being done at the thickening mixture. You will have to turn up the heat a bit to just about a shimmer and constant watch it. If you do not constantly watch and stir it will clump up. But if stirred it will become the perfect consistently. 
  9. Salt and pepper to taste
  10. Put in gravy boat and serve hot (or pour over steaks if you like to plate food before people see it). 

Easy peasy. Sometimes it wont thicken, it may be the heat you have it on or not enough time. But I have never had someone complain, other them myself, about it not being a thick sauce.

This recipe will nicely serve 4-5 people who really like sauce and steak (we love sauce in our family and eat a lot of meat) with a little left over if you have left over steak. It also stores in the fridge perfect and re heats in the microwave perfectly for a work lunch.

Do you have a favourite steak sauce? Tell me about it in the comments and I may just have to try it!

Leave a Reply

